Installation of Officers

2020 Event Information

WHEN: December 10, 2020 from 11 a.m. – 2 p.m.
WHERE: Petersburg Country Club, 1250 Flank Road

2020 Event Recap

‘Tis the season to (safely!) celebrate good cheer and accomplishments and to look forward to 2021! During today’s Installation and Annual Meeting, SVAR members came together at the Petersburg Country Club for social-distancing-friendly holiday camaraderie, the installation of 2021's new leadership and to say "thank you" to those who guided the association throughout 2020. New President Joyce Navary, sworn in by John Brockwell, will lead the association with the team of officers Norris Hardy, president-elect; Larry Lewis, immediate past president; Jerome Ford, treasurer; and directors Rhonda Canada, Josh Chappell, Joy Harris-Cobb, Jennifer Resnick and Samantha Tyler. Brett Harris served as emcee, with the prayer given by Norris Hardy and pledge led by Donnie Milton. SVAR Past President Steve Overgard brought words on behalf of the Virginia REALTORS®. 2020 President Larry Lewis offered a farewell, with special thanks to the year’s leadership, and John Brockwell introduced the incoming president, noting, “Joyce is just one of those people who is naturally willing to help others,” and added that she a great sounding board, kind, honest and hardworking. New President Joyce Navary delivered a grateful and heartfelt inaugural speech, offering thanks to SVAR and her colleagues during a tough personal year, saying, “My REALTOR® family was right there with me for support and strength.” She added, “Relationships are what matter, not just in business but in life.” In highlighting her goals for the year, she announced “I Am 1 Plus 1,” challenging active members to always invite and bring a less active member to SVAR activities, to help grow member participation and involvement. She also asked membership to be kind and respectful of one another, and to serve as role models for “I Am 1 Plus 1.” Thank you to the installation luncheon’s generous sponsors: Hill & Rainey, Weichert REALTORS Brockwell & Associates, Cinch Home Services, Edward Jones, GE Matthews REALTORS®, Harris & Associates, Brett Harris, Tennek, Vickie and Larry Team, 1st Choice Realty, Signature Craft LLC and Village Bank. Enjoy the photos, and if you weren’t able to attend the ceremony or watch it on Facebook Live, it is posted to SVAR’s official Facebook page. Thank you to 2020’s leaders, and congrats and best of wishes to 2021’s leadership.

Visit Facebook to see more photos from the event!

Installation of Officers